[Review] The Eternity Cure

Australian Edition

(© goodreads)

.

.

.
‚The Eternity Cure‘

by
Julie Kagawa

Blood of Eden # 2

..

.
.
.

Synopsis:
In Allison Sekemoto’s world, there is one one rule left: Blood Calls to blood.
Cast out of Eden and separated from the boy she dared to love, Allie will follow the call of blood to save her creator, Kanin, from the psychotic vampire, Sarren. But when the trail leads to Allie’s birthplace in New Covington, what she finds there will the change the world forever – and possibly end human and vampire existence.
There’s a new plague on the rise, a strain of the Red Lung virus that wiped out most of humanity generations ago – deadly to humans and vampires alike. The only hope for a cure lies in the secrets Kanin carries. If Allie can get to him in time…..  (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I’m just speechless and that doesn’t happen very often😉
But after the end I don’t know whether I should be glad about the hopefully soon released next part or should cry because we don’t know what is going to happen next…

However, better I start right with the beginning:
Some months after Allie’s and Zeke’s ways have separated at Eden, she is still following the psycho-vamp Sarren, who has Kanin in his catches and torments and massacres him over and over again – Allie can feel this, because of her blood connection with Kanin. But instead of him, Allie hits in further results other old friends. At first by some of them, I immediately would have liked to turn around again and by others I’ve been enormously glad!! ♥
But about that I’m going to write more of it, further down.

Now to the writing style of Kagawa, which I find simply brilliant, admirable and desirable. Though she sometimes stretches her descriptions a little, but she makes the surroundings-descriptions so special and fantastic that it don’t disturbs me and so I’m just even more enthusiastic about it – whether it is about a fantastic fairy kingdom or like here about a cruel, somber area in tunnels or in wastelands, in which hope stands shortly before the end. *great*

Without any problems Kagawa also could create characters which got me, carried me away and with which, I simply fell in love with and I constantly worried about them. Even with Jackal I had this feeling, although I only wanted to strangle him at the beginning – but he could persuade me with his cheeky, unabashed behavior and change my opinion about him. (To tell the truth, he reminds me a little of Grimalkin from the Iron Fey series ^^)
But also Kanin was one of my favorites – and now that where I’m okay with the idea, that there will be no romantic incident with him – I’m glad about his fatherly behavior and for me he is a little like a grumpy bear, on which you also can lean on or is able to give you a good advice.

Now to the two main characters: Allie was just great once again and totally great. I like her even more than back then Meghan in the Iron Fey series, because she sorts things out and doesn’t hesitate long, doesn’t whine and in addition, she still has feelings and tries to hang on to her humanity. Alas, she is awesome and we could use more such female main characters in books.😉

And ZEKE – what I should say more about Ezekiel than that I’m absolutely in love with him! ♥ Although, in the first book I already liked him, but there he was sometimes too blue-eyed for me and was too nice for this sad, dreary world, which he lived it. BUT now he has grown up and has become more masculine and a fighter. That sounds stupid, but it is like that!😀 Moreover I buy everything from him and he is in the right mood, he is still sensitive, sweet and caring, like in the first part. He virtually had a tuning, which made him a lot better and yeah – now, I’m in love! xD

So – and now to the end – which has totally got me down and made me cry like a little baby! Therefore, now I would like to address only those, who have already read the book – because I would like to know your opinion on this subject and what you think, how it goes on now in the third part … because on the internet I can’t find any info about when part three is going to be published or how it will be titled, never mind a synopsis! *whine*

So from here -> SPOILER!!!

I saw it coming when Allie has said goodbye in the evening to Zeke, especiallay because she saw Stick lurking around in the shadows … this was just soo evident! And then when Zeke was really gone and we hear the tortures and the screams – oh god, I’ve cried like a baby and also yet, when I think back of it, it’s killing me. It was really very hard and sad and I felt so sorry for Allie. :‘-(

Now to my questions: What do you think after this prologue – do you think he has also become a vampire? Which I liked, to be honest – or do you think, Sarren just let Zeke live as a human? But this would be too easy for me! Moreover, then he could be together with Allie – be together for a long time, because they both would be immortal. Of course he didn’t wanted this, and hence, I think, the third part will be focused on the fact that Allie has to find her humanity again and Zeke has to master his existence as a vampire and to try not to perish – and yeah, they also have to find a cure against rabidsm and to kill Sarren – this psycho-asshole. Okay, do you think my opinion is right or is my supposition totally wrong? What do you wish for in the last part?

Cover:
Once again it fits perfectly to Allie, but I liked the cover from the first part a track better.

All in all:
An emotional rollercoaster, which though gets starting a little slowly, but then takes up such a rapidly drive and doesn’t stop up till to the end, until you are breathless when you read the last page. *wow*

Rating:
4,5 of 5 points (soo aswesome!)
.

Quotes:  (Between Allie and Zeke)

Allie: „Promise me you’ll keep fighting, for as long as it takes. We’re not dead yet.“
Zeke gave me the smallest of grins. „Technically, you are.“

Zeke: „You haven’t changed. You’re still beautiful and dangerous and incredible. and I’ll keep telling you that for as long as is takes you to believe it. But right now, all I want to do is kiss you, except I’m terrified that if I try you might throw me off this balcony.“

Zeke drew back, looking a little dazed. Gazing down at me, he gave a wry smile, licking his lips. „That… didn’t have anything to do with him over there, did it?“ he asked, sounding suspiciously amused, and a little breathless. I bit my lip.
„Does that bother you?“
„If it involves kissing you? Please, use me to prove a point anytime.“

His hand framed my cheek, brushing my skin. „No one who fights so hard to do the right thing is evil.“

..

.

Succession:

# 1: Julie Kagawa – The Immortal Rules »»
# 2: Julie Kagawa – The Eternity Cure »»
# 3: Julie Kagawa – Untitled

.

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – Julie Kagawa:
Julie Kagawa was born in Sacramento, California. To pay the rent, Julie worked in different bookstores over the years, but discovered the managers frowned upon her reading the books she was supposed to be shelving. Then she worked as a professional dogtrainer for several years, until her first book sold and she stopped training to write full-time.
Julie now lives in Louisville, Kentucky. She lives with her husband, two obnoxious cats, one Australian Shepherd who is too smart for his own good, and the latest addition, a hyper-active Papillon puppy.
(Source: juliekagawa.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 04.04.2013 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. 4 Kommentare.

  1. miss kitty

    I truly agree that Zeke has been Turned. There is no way that he could have survived the torture Sarren gave him as a human. That being said I can not remember if Sarren is a Master Vampire. But I don’t think he is…. Assuming he is not a Master Vampire then Zeke should have turned into a rabid, which I don’t think did. So, maybe the cure has already been found…? Do you think this could be the case?
    I love your idea that the next book will be about Allie finding her humanity and Zeke learning to deal with being a vampire.

    • Hy,
      I’m glad that you’ve the same opinion like me and that we both think, that Zeke has been turned into a vampire – it’s the only solution after everything.
      But even if Sarren isn’t a Master Vampire, Zeke wouldn’t turn rabid, because he has the cure inside of him… otherwise he couldn’t have saved Kanin or himself.
      Thanks – and I hope my idea for the next will be right, because then it’s going to be an amazing book🙂
      Greetings tina

  2. Just read The Immortal Rules and I am looking forward to the sequel.

    Nice review! (also read the spoilers!) couldn’t help it:)

    • Thanks🙂
      hey great, I’m happy that you liked the book as well and I’m sure you’ll also love The Eternity Cure. But now I’m just duying while waiting for the third book:/

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

