Review: Lover Avenged

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

.

‚Lover Avenged
by J. R. Ward

Black Dagger Brotherhood # 7

First Sentence:
„‚The king must die.‘ Four single-syllable words.“

Last Sentence:
„That’s exactly what it is.“

Synopsis:
Caldwell, New York, has long been the battleground for the vampires and their enemies, the Lessening Society. It’s also where Rehvenge has staked out his turf as a drug lord and owner of a notorious night club that caters to the rich and heavily armed. His shadowy reputation is exactly why he’s approached to kill Wrath, the Blind King and leader of the Brotherhood.

Rehvenge has always kept his distance from the Brotherhood-even though his sister is married to a member, for he harbors a deadly secret that could make him a huge liability in their war against the lessers. As plots within and outside of the Brotherhood threaten to reveal the truth about Rehvenge, he turns to the only source of light in his darkening world, Ehlena, a vampire untouched by the corruption that has its hold on him-and the only thing standing between him and eternal destruction. (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
Again I’ve finished a book of Ward to the end and I already stay behind and long for more of it. *sigh* I don’t know how Ward is able to make me so depending on her books and on her stories, as well on the brothers. But as soon as I start to read the first page, I’m swallowed into another world, another reality and come back again only reluctantly. For me these books aren’t only there to fill my spare time, but they do for me almost the same job like others use a glass of good red wine or settle down on the couch before the television -> they calm me and let me relax after a strenuous day full work and everyday duties. This is a nice feeling and I’m glad every time I find the time to take these books into my hands. But enough of the passion, further to the facts:

In the seventh book we find out more about the intrigues from Rehvenge, who is also called Reverend in the drug scene in Caldwell. He is the older brother of Bella, Shellan of Zsadist, and also a half Sympath and actually would’ve to be transferred to the colony of the Sympaths to probably die there. But he has built up a life in the vampire society and has so far well hidden his bad side from all others, only a few know about his true nature. Up to now he had no problems to keep these secrets to him and not to confide to anybody, until he meets Ehlena. She is a heart-good nurse in Haver’s clinic and she always tries to act right in her life and to fulfill her duties which limit her life not only because of her work, but encloses also her self-sacrificing care for her schizophrenic father. The destiny wants that Rehvenge and Ehlena get closer to each other and soon the world of Rehvenge starts to falter …
But not only the relationship between Rehvenge and Ehlena tapers further, but also Johns and Xhexs and make everyone curious for the further book…

And I also have to admit that I’ve not suffered so strong and wasn’t so thrilled in book for a long time like it happened here in ‘Lover Avenged’. On the one hand the love story of Rehvenge and Ehlena was lovely to be followed by and it was clear that they will get their happy end. But besides that, the upset relation of John and Xhex stretch on and on in a sad, deep dark hole and John’s fat have almost broken my heart. He is one of my declared darlings is in the series, since he has appeared for the first time in the second book and his story has been in all the book constantly since then, like a central theme along all the other happy ends. Only that John never got his happy end and could only watch the joy of the others form far away while he fell further in a bottomless black hole. He has already experienced so much sadness and with him, I don’t know why, but there is no end … and the last events threaten to break him if it is not too late already. This has deeply touched me and unfortunately has also damped somehow my joy while reading about the other events.

It was also sometimes irritating that occasionally the king Wrath and Beth appeared in the book again very often, although their ‚time’ was already in the first one. Because of this and because of a few other things I must confess that in this book the subplots around the princess, John and Xhex, Wrath and Beth, Thor or about the Sympaths and Lash, were a little too much and they put the main story of Rehvenge and Ehlena too much in the background. Of course I have devoured that book like no other, but nevertheless I would have wished for more togetherness of both main protagonists, particularly because Rehvenge is very much… well, handsome guy!🙂

Actually, I have planned not to read another Black Dagger book after ‘Lover Avenged’ and to make a little break from Ward’s books because I simply have enough other books to read for Challenge or for reviews, but unfortunately, I’m not able to start another book and so I just started directly with the book #8 (Lover Mine) because I need to know what happens next.
At the moment it is so exciting that I can’t think of anything else and after this book was already an absolute, breathtaking page-turner, I am sure that this well be even increased in the next part because I finally will read Johns story… and Mrs. Ward… I also expect to get a happy-end for him!

English Cover:
Yes, this time this is a cover for my taste and finally, with a hot guy on it who I can see as Rehvenge, if he had amethyst eyes and a squarer face.

All in all:
An unlimited reading recommendation from my side because the book has offered me everything what I’ve hoped for and even more and I want to share this feeling with everyone else.

Rating:
4,5 of 5 points

Quotes:

Wrath to Beth: „You know,“ he said, „this is why I love you so much.“
Her tone was heartbreakingly warm. „What do you mean?“
„You don’t ask me to go inside because it’s cold. You just want to make it easier for me to be where I want to stand.“

Rehvenge: „No matter what you wear… to me, you will always have diamonds on the soles of your shoes.“

Thor: „Christ, don’t you ever knock?“
Lassiter: „It’s Lassiter. L-A-S-S-I-T-E-R. How is it possible you’re still getting me confused with someone else? Do I need a nametag?“

..

Succession:

# 1: J. R. Ward –    Dark Lover »»
# 2: J. R. Ward –    Lover Eternal »»
# 3: J. R. Ward –    Lover Awakened »»
# 4: J. R. Ward –    Lover Revealed »»
# 5: J. R. Ward –    Lover Unbound »»
# 6: J. R. Ward –    Lover Enshrined »»
# 6.5: J.R.Ward – BDB: An Insider’s Guide »»
# 7: J. R. Ward –    Lover Avagened »»
# 8: J. R. Ward –    Lover Mine »»
# 9: J. R. Ward –    Lover Unleashed »»
# 10: J. R. Ward –  Lover Reborn »»
# 11: J.R. Ward – Lover at Last »»
# 12 J. R. Ward – The King

.

About the author – J. R. Ward:

J.R. Ward is a #1 New York Times and USAToday Best Selling author of erotic paranormal romance. She lives in the south with her incredibly supportive husband and her beloved golden retriever. After graduating from law school, she began working in healthcare in Boston and spent many years as Chief of Staff of one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation. Writing has always been her passion and her idea of heaven is a whole day of nothing but her computer, her dog and her coffee pot. (Source: http://www.jrward.com/)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 20.01.2012 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, Adult Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

