Blog-Archive

Review: Skin Hunger

English Cover

German Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Skin Hunger‘ by Kathleen Duey

A Resurrection of Magic #1
...

Synopsis:
Sadima lives in a world where magic has been banned, leaving poor villagers prey to fakes and charlatans. A „magician“ stole her family’s few valuables and left Sadima’s mother to die on the day Sadima was born. But vestiges of magic are hidden in old rhymes and hearth tales and in people like Sadima, who conceals her silent communication with animals for fear of rejection and ridicule. When rumors of her gift reach Somiss, a young nobleman obsessed with restoring magic, he sends Franklin, his lifelong servant, to find her. Sadima’s joy at sharing her secret becomes love for the man she shares it with. But Franklin’s irrevocable bond to the brilliant and dangerous Somiss traps her, too, and she faces a heartbreaking decision. (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I must confess that I didn’t know that book before I’ve started to read it, and hence, I’ve simply let surprised me. And I didn’t get disappointed. Right at the beginning I’ve liked the writing style of Duey very much and I could get into it well and nicely. The book was written in the past. What was very great and has also confused me a little in the beginning was the fact that not all chapters were written in the same perspective, but they rotated.

Moreover, the time line wasn’t only simply linear like in any other book, but also the time switches. There is virtually a story which plays in the past and tells the background story and how it happened that it has come to the present-state. Okay, I’ve to confess this was a little bewildering at first, but it also has carried me away immediately and it was therefore so thrilling that I almost couldn’t put aside the book. These points were absolutely the biggest fascination of the book for me.

Beside these, also the central figure, called Samida, was a highlight of the book and she could win me for herself very fast, as well as after some time the character Haph, for whom I’ve felt endlessly sorry. Also I’ve liked Franklin at the beginning of the book very much because of his friendly kind and his natural, helpful being. Unfortunately he couldn’t really grow within the book or for me he has even changed at some points to the negative.

And unfortunately the same happened with the whole book. Not that the writing style have gotten worse or such a thing but the plot was from time to time too stretched in the length, although it didn’t happened a lot in those chapters. Occasionally I had the feeling, as if something will immediately happen, some kind of highlight or such a thing, but that never came.

The arc of suspense simply decreased again. In addition was that the characters have also slipped into some roles, in which I didn’t really want to see them. For example Franklin became rather weaker than stronger throughout the story, and in my opinion he hasn’t grown at all or has changed to the positive. It was rather in a way that he was completely guided only by Somiss, another central figure, and has operated for me too less independently, so that I wanted to shake him sometimes to wake him up. It was exactly what also Samida wanted to do with him or she also wanted to free herself from him, to put her own luck into focus again, but unfortunately, she didn’t made it.

Now I really hope that this relatively open end, with raised many questions, soon gets a better second book, in which will be also some answers and in which the characters can grow again. Because I think that this phase, in which they characters couldn’t be themselves and where their hands were virtually bound, will be important for the future, their maturation process and the general plot. Hence I’m curious how this series will go on and therefore I’m looking forward to also read the next books.

Cover:
I find the cover very suitably for this story, because it shows Samida well, but also doesn’t reveal too much from her. Moreover it suits to the magic atmosphere in the book and hence I think it’s really felicitous.

All in all:
It’s an interesting book which has brought me to ponder and has carried me away much particularly at the beginning. Unfortunately there have been some weaker phases in the meantime. Nevertheless a must read for fans of Magic and High fantasy or also for readers of for example Trudi Canavan.

Rating:
3 of 5 points – (I liked it)
.

A huge THANKS for the reviewer’s copy to:

© Random House

..

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – Kathleen Duey:
Kathleen Duey grew up in Colorado. She loved riding her horses, hiking, being in the mountains. Reading was always important to her. Writing became a fascination early in her life. In the fourth grade, Kathleen began writing stories and told everyone who would listen that she was going to be an author. Then she did nothing about it until she was 35 years old. In the last decade, Kathleen has learned about computers, the internet, research and writing. Writing is her passion and her dream-come-true. She is in love and feels lucky to have a such a wonderful and loving partner in her life.
(Source: goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Rezension: Die Gabe der Magie

English Cover

German Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Die Gabe der Magie‘
by Kathleen Duey

(Skin Hunger)

A Resurrection of Magic #1
...

First Sentence:
„Scharf schnitt Micah der Atem durch die Lungen.“

Last Sentence:
„Die Nacht war kalt, und die Sterne glitzerten, als sie Somiss in die Dunkelheit folgten…“

Inhaltsangabe:
Seit Sadimas Mutter bei ihrer Geburt durch die Machenschaften einer betrügerischen Magierin starb, hasst ihre Familie alle, die sich der Zauberei verschrieben haben. Doch Sadima verfügt selbst über magische Kräfte und bricht auf, um mehr über ihre Gabe herauszufinden. Bald darauf lernt sie den jungen Magier Franklin kennen — und verliebt sich in ihn. Doch Franklin sieht sich außerstande, Sadimas Gefühle zu erwidern. Denn er und sein ehrgeiziger Freund Somiss haben sich einer großen Aufgabe verschrieben — der Gründung einer Akademie der Magier.
Viele Jahre später tritt der naive Hahp als Novize in eben diese Akademie ein. Groß sind seine Erwartungen, als er das Studium der Zauberei beginnt. Doch noch viel größer ist der Schock, als die Lehrer Hahp und seinen Mitschülern verkünden, dass nur einer von ihnen die Ausbildung überleben wird. Denn der Weg zur Magie ist gefährlich. Und bereits der kleinste Fehltritt kann den Tod bedeuten …   (Source: Goodreads.com)

Meine Gedanken zum Buch:
Ich muss gestehen, ich habe das Buch, bevor ich es begonnen habe, auch noch nicht gekannt und habe mich daher einfach überraschen lassen. Und ich wurde nicht enttäuscht.

Gleich zu Beginn hat mir der Schreibstil von Duey  außerordentlich gut gefallen und man konnte sich sehr gut und schön auf ihn einlassen. Verfasst wurde das Buch in der Vergangenheit. Was aber ganz toll war und mich zugegeben, am Anfang auch verwirrt hat, ich aber dann ganz Klasse gefunden habe, dass nicht alle Kapitel in der gleichen Erzählperspektive geschrieben wurden, sondern dass sie sich abwechseln. Außerdem ist auch die Zeit nicht wie in jedem anderen Buch einfach linear, sondern auch die Zeiten wechseln sich ab. Es gibt quasi eine Geschichte die jetzt spielt und eine die im Hintergrund die Vergangenheit erzählt, wie es zu dem Jetzt-Zustand gekommen ist. Okay, das war anfänglich etwas verwirrend, aber hat mich auch dafür sofort mitgerissen und mich begeistert und konnte das Buch nur mehr schwer aus der Hand legen. Diese Punkte haben sicherlich den größten Reiz des Buches für mich ausgemacht.

Neben diesen konnte mich auch eine der Hauptfiguren namens Samida für sich gewinnen, sowie nach einiger Zeit auch noch Haph, der mir einfach unendlich leid getan hat. Auch Franklin hat mir zu Beginn des Buches sehr gut gefallen und mir hat seine freundliche Art gefallen und sein natürliches, hilfsbereites Wesen. Aber leider konnte er innerhalb des Buches nicht weiter wachsen, bzw. hat sich für mich sogar etwas ins Negative gewandelt.

Und genauso erging es mir leider im Endeffekt auch mit dem ganzen Buch. Nicht, dass sich der Schreibstil verschlechtert hätte oder dergleichen, aber die Handlung war Phasenweise sehr langatmig und es kamen Kapiteln vor, die sehr in die Länge gedehnt wurden, obwohl nicht viel passierte. Ich hatte öfters das Gefühl, als ob jetzt gleich was passieren würde, ein Highlight oder dergleichen, aber das kam die. Der Spannungsbogen verlor sich einfach wieder. Hinzu kommt, dass auch die Charaktere immer weiter in eine Rolle geschlüpft sind, in denen ich sie nicht wirklich sehen wollte. Zb. wurde Franklin im Verlauf der Geschichte eher schwächer, ist meiner Meinung nach überhaupt nicht gewachsen oder hätte sich zum Positiven verändert. Es war eher so, dass er sich nur von Somiss, einer anderen zentralen Figur, leiten ließ und für mich viel zu wenig selbständig agiert hat, dass ich ihn manchmal wach rütteln wollte. Genau das, was auch Samida mit ihm tun wollte, bzw. sich von ihm lösen, um wieder ihr eigenen Glück in den Fokus zu nehmen, aber auch sie schaffte es leider nicht.

Nun hoffe ich sehr, dass dieses relativ offene Ende, mit den vielen aufgeworfenen Fragen, bald einen besseren Nachfolger bekommt, in dem Antworten ans Licht kommen und in dem auch die Charaktere wieder wachsen können. Ich denke nämlich, dass diese Phase, in der sie nicht sie selbst sein konnten, ihnen quasi die Hände gebunden waren, noch wichtig wird für ihren Reifungsprozess und die weitere Handlung. Daher bin ich gespannt wie es weiter geht und möchte auf alle Fälle diese Reihe weiterhin verfolgen.

Cover:
Finde das Cover sehr passend zu der Geschichte, da sie Samida gut zeigt, aber auch nicht zu viel von ihr preis gibt. Außerdem entspricht es der magischen Atmosphäre im Buch und ich finde es daher wirklich gelungen.

All in all:
Ein interessantes Buch, das mich zum Nachdenken gebracht und mich besonders zum Anfang sehr gefesselt hat. Leider hat es zwischenzeitlich schwächere Phasen gegeben. Trotzdem aber ein Muss für Fans von Magie und High Fantasy oder Leser von zb. Trudi Canavan.

Rating:
3 of 5 points – (I liked it)
.

Vielen Dank für die Bereitstellung des Rezensionsexemplares an:

© Random House

..

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – Kathleen Duey:
Kathleen Duey grew up in Colorado. She loved riding her horses, hiking, being in the mountains. Reading was always important to her. Writing became a fascination early in her life. In the fourth grade, Kathleen began writing stories and told everyone who would listen that she was going to be an author. Then she did nothing about it until she was 35 years old. In the last decade, Kathleen has learned about computers, the internet, research and writing. Writing is her passion and her dream-come-true. She is in love and feels lucky to have a such a wonderful and loving partner in her life.
(Source: goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Pan Tau Books

Ein Buchblog

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern