[Review] Onyx

Onyx

Paperback Version

Onyx

Audio Version Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.
.

‚Onyx‘
by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Lux # 2

Synopsis:
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.
Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard. But then everything changes…
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me? No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…  (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
At the moment I’m just dumbfounded and unsure what I should think about the book. I’ve really liked the first part in this sci-fi series – it was incredible – but this book had his up-and-downs.

I had my biggest problem in Onyx with Katy/ Kat/ Kitten because for me she often was very nerve-killing, undecided and mean to Daemon. Particularly at the beginning and in the middle, I could have strangled her when she has pushed him away over and over again, although he has changed himself by 180°, and has done everything for Katy. And what was she doing? – She was hanging around with another boy, only because he is supposedly normal -> very nice, Katy and so grown-up. So, yes, I think, Katy and I didn’t have become friends in this book, there it also didn’t helped, that I found her book- fanaticism and blogger-passion just great. I only hope, that she becomes more grown-up in the next book, more determined and won’t make again such stupid decisions, which concerns everybody and hurt or injure others.

And now to Daemon!! Oh, he’s my new Bookboyfriend and he’s soo adorable. *swoon* In the first part he was still quite an asshole (where we know the reason for it now), which he’s also sometimes in this book, or also narcissistic – but a witty, very charming one, who you can’t be angry with … especially not at all with his charismatic appearance, cheeky statements and with this look and body. *sigh* He’s meant for dreams, especially now when he has become really nice, sweet and caring. ♥

I’ve also liked the plot very much after the first half. At first it was too stretched, but then when the thing with Blake happened and the thing with him, Vaughn or Daemon’s brother, together with Katy, got more interesting, it even became a page-turner, for which I haven’t counted on any more.

Of course I wasn’t happy with everything that has happened in the book, but the most part, particularly the end, has worked out really great for me and also has led to the fact, that I rated the book with four points. The look-out to the next book and the unknowing and what will wait for us there, makes it for me very tingly and I can hardly wait to read on soon, because at the end there was also a little cliffhanger. I’m very curious what will happen next with Daemon and Katy or with Daemon’s brother or all around him and which role this devil underground will play in the further course.

Cover:
Very nice cover and I like it even better than the first one – probably because of the color – with violet you can’t do something wrong!😉

All in all:
A little stretched beginning, which also made me crazy because of Katy’s behavior, but it could persuade me at the end and won me over with action and much thrilling tension. Now I want more and I wait with longing for book three, which I probably will also read very soon!

Rating:
4 of 5 points – (Great, great, great)

.

Quotes:

 Jesus.” Blake rubbed his throat. “You have anger management problems. Its like a disease.”
Daemon: “There’s a cure and it’s called kicking your ass.

.

Daemon pressed his forehead against mine. „Oh, I still want to strangle you. But I’m insane. You’re crazy. Maybe that’s why. We just make crazy together.“

.

Daemon: „If there is anything, there is us.
You and me. No one else.“

..


.
Succession:
0,5: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Shadows (Short Story)
#1: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Obsidian »»
#2: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Onyx »»
#3: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Opal
#4: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Origin
#5: Jennifer L. Armentrout – Untitled

.

.

(© goodreads.com)

About the author – Jennifer L. Armentrout:
USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in West Virginia. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.
She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don’t Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion)
(Source: Goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 28.04.2013 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

