[Snapshot] Notes from Ghost Town (engl)

.

‚Notes from Ghost Town‘
by
Kate Ellison

.

(© goodreads)

Synopsis:
They say first love never dies…
From critically acclaimed author Kate Ellison comes a heartbreaking mystery of mental illness, unspoken love, and murder. When sixteen-year-old artist Olivia Tithe is visited by the ghost of her first love, Lucas Stern, it’s only through scattered images and notes left behind that she can unravel the mystery of his death. There’s a catch: Olivia has gone colorblind, and there’s a good chance she’s losing her mind completely—just like her mother did. How else to explain seeing (and falling in love all over again with) someone who isn’t really there? With the murder trial looming just nine days away, Olivia must follow her heart to the truth, no matter how painful. It’s the only way she can save herself.
(Source: Goodreads.com)

My opinion:
I don’t know where I should start. In this book there were shed many tears, not only by the protagonist, but also by me while reading it. It begins immediately there – as it is described in the synopsis – with the death of Stern, who I immediately took to my heart at the first encounter, and with every other appearance of him, I fall more and more in love with him, but always with the knowledge that he’s damn dead and just a ghost…

Of course the book wasn’t only about the processing of the grief or about the releasing of Stern, to let him go – the BFF of Liv and almost boyfriend. No, because Liv’s schizophrenic mother is accused of the murder and the negotiations stand in a queue within the next seven days.
Seven days, in which together with Stern, Liv tries to find the true murderer of Stern also the reason for it. Hence, it is really very exciting and criminological and what I’ve liked was that I also could guess who the murderer was or not. And I must admit that up to three quarters of the book I had no clue. Hence, this guessing game and dissolving of the mysterious occurrences was made really well and has tied me up throughout the whole book.

And adding to this whole criminological background, there are of course the whole big feelings and emotions, which Liv has to go through. Not only the heartbreaking ‘letting go’ of Stern, but also the strength to stand to her mother, to fight for her, even if others put themselves in Liv’s way and make it harder for her and, also at the same time, to find the courage to let herself fall into a new love.

I’ve liked Liv really very much and she was a tough character and she was very likeable to me right from the beginning, during the prologue and before destiny let her life fall apart. Though she was almost already too strong for her sixteen years, but I prefer this much more than these irritating, naive girlies. Moreover Liv was also emotionally cold, especially at the beginning and reserved to the others, except towards her stepsisters, but after what has happened to her, it’s just logical and understandable.

And now to Stern … Man, how can an author create such a great, charming, amusing, gifted and hot guy, just to let him die in the beginning – to let him be a ghost? Still, when I think back to the book, tears fill my eyes always when I think of him, of Liv’s longing for him and also of mine. That was really painful!
But I also found Austin quite okay, even if for a long time it wasn’t clear, which role/ game he played. Nevertheless, he had a mistake … namely -> he just wasn’t Stern.😦

Though I haven’t liked the writing manner of the author by hundred percent and here and there I also had difficulties with her English, but nevertheless she could conjure a great atmosphere here and therefore I’m sure, that I’ll read a book of her again sometime.

Even if some other readers think that the end was too corny in a way or too rose-colored, for me it was great and I was totally happy with it and have no problem with how it has ended. But I’m a happy-end-fan, as you know, and therefore it was exactly my taste and I hope, if some of you decide to the read this book too, that you all will feel like that as well. Therefore I like to recommend it and I wish you all a lot of fun with the book! But before you start reading, procure a big pack of handkerchiefs for it!🙂

.

Quotes:

Liv: ‚When her fingers glide across the keys and what results is the kind of music that makes you stop where you are and notice every beautiful thing around you. His fingers can do this, too.‘

Liv: ‚… Before we knew that we were not permanent, and that a good, easy life is not something the universe is contractually obligated to grand you.‘

Liv: ‚… And I ace, as much as I have since the day Stern and I kissed, for a person beside me who understands exactly what I need without me ever having to say it.  Even if the world stays gray forever, I just don’t think it would be so bad if I knew I could have Stern, permanent, solid, for real.‘

.

A huge Thanks for the reviewer’s copy to:

© netgalley.com

.

.

Veröffentlicht am 19.03.2013 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

