[Review] Slave of Sensation

Leopardenblut

German Cover

Slave to Sensation

English Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Slave of Sensation‘ by Nalini Singh

Psy Changeling #1
.
.

Synopsis:
In der Welt, in der Gefühle verboten sind, führt die junge Sascha Duncan ein Doppelleben. Sie mimt die eiskalte Geschäftsfrau, während in ihrem Inneren ein Sturm der Leidenschaften tobt. Als sie dem attraktiven Gestaltwandler Lucas Hunter begegnet, kann sie ihre Fassade kaum noch wahren. Der Anführer der DarkRiver-Leoparden ist unterwegs, um den Mord an seiner Leopardenfrau zu rächen – und weckt in Sascha tödliches Verlangen… (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
For a really long time Anna-Lisa talked me into it and constantly recommended me the author Nalini Singh because she is a huge fan of her. I don‘t know why I’ve bristled so long, maybe the length of the book series has deterred me, although I’ve already the first three books of the Guild Hunter series at home. Hence the past weekend in the evening I‘ve spontaneously decided to try one book of this author. But I’ve chosen the first book of the Psy Changeling series, because I had little desire for angels, and rather wanted something a little harder, more animalistic.😉

Well, what can I say – I am stocked! No idea why, but it has totally gripped me. Maybe it was also due to the fact that I was in the right mood for the book, but it has just blown me away. I couldn‘t put it aside any more and the last time I read that fast, was when I got my hand on ‘Lover Reborn’ by Ward this spring. I’ve totally overlooked the time in the first evening, so that I even read till half past three through the night and at this time I’ve almost read three quarters of the book. But I just can’t stop, because I was totally captive in the story.

At which I can’t exactly say what has fascinated me so much, because the first book of Showalter’s ‘Lords of the Underworld’ was also not bad, but it hasn’t pulled me in the spell like this book could it. I think often it‘s just a matter of feelings and here I was in it with my heart all the time. The main characters Sasha and also Lucas have made me curious from the first pages on, later I was thrilled by them. And this although Lucas wasn’t always an easy, comfortable character and here and there he was also too proprietary. Also his ‘term of endearment’ for Sasha has annoyed me, but nevertheless, I’ve loved him. Just like Sasha, who should have no feelings as a Psy. But she has them; and they blossom on and on, the more time she spends with Lucas. And he shows her not only a world beyond the cold of the psys, but also kindles her passion and her sparks for the life, full of feelings, family, friends and love. Of course now and then there are some erotic scenes in it, which I found really ‘nice’.😉

But not only these both figures could grab me, no – but also the other characters, which were briefly introduced. Above all Tammy, who I find awesome and just good-hearted. I would also like to have a friend like her. But I also was thrilled by Dorian, with his internal fury and hatred for the Psys, or by Hawke – for whose story I’m already looking forward dearly, although he gets his time not till book 10! *aaah*cry, baby*.

The manner of Singh’s writing is liquid and easy to read, with the right serving in explanations and excesses and also the dialogues are embedded well. She tells the story in the past in the 3rd person narrator, and changes the point of view constantly between Sasha and Lucas. What is typically and also suitably for this kind of stories.

Of course I also have to tell you briefly a few deficiencies. Although the structures of the world of the Psys and also the shape shifters were well worked out and it was shown understandably, but at the end of the story there lacked some information. For example it has disturbed me, that all the time it was pointed out to a mean murderer/ the villain (to tell the truth, who I’ve figured out at the second meeting) and then, at the big showdown, it wasn’t told a lot about it. It was only described in the renarration what has happened to the bad guy. But I would have wished for to be present and read it, when the ‘final’ happened with him. Then it unfortunately was also over too fast and I easily could still have read some more pages of it.
And now I wait impatiently for the next part and can’t wait to dive into this world again. *sigh*

German Cover:
The cover is typical for stories in this genre and, yes, it’s quite okay, but honestly, it could be better.😉

All in all:
It’s a great new series for me, which I will read on with pleasure very soon and my luck is, that I’ve started this series so late, that now I can read them luxurious without waiting till the next part is released, because they are already all published till book 12! Great, great, great! If you like the ‘Black Daggers’ or the ‘Lord of the Underworld’ then this series is also a tidbit – promised!

Rating:
5 of 5 points – (I LOVED it – buy it!)

.

Quotes:

Sascha: ‚She wished he’d stop touching her. Not because she didn’t like it but because she liked it far too much. It made her hunger for things that could never be hers. And if someone went hungry for too long, they started to starve. Started to hurt.‘

Sascha: ‚His kiss held his heart. It broke hers.‘
.

..


Succession:

0,5:   Nalini Singh – An Enchanted Season
#1:     Nalini Singh – Slave of Sensation »»
1,5:    Nalini Singh – The Cannibal Princess -> free Short Story
#2:     Nalini Singh – Vision of Heat
#3:     Nalini Singh – Caressed by Ice
3,5:    Nalini Singh – The Magical Christmas Cat
#4:     Nalini Singh – Mine to Possess
4,5:    Nalini Singh – Movie Night -> free Short Story
#5:     Nalini Singh – Hostage of Pleasure
5,5:    Nalini Singh – A Gift for Kit -> free Short Story
#6:     Nalini Singh – Branded by Fire
#7:     Nalini Singh – Blaze of Memory
7,5:    Nalini Singh – A Conversation  -> free Short Story
#8:     Nalini Singh – Bonds of Justice
8,5:    Nalini Singh – Burning Up
#9:     Nalini Singh – Play of Passion
9,2:    Nalini Singh – The Party
9,5:    Nalini Singh – Wolf School  -> free Short Story
#10:   Nalini Singh – Kiss of Snow
#11:   Nalini Singh – Tangle of Need
11,5:  Nalini Singh – Poker Night
#12:   Nalini Singh – Untitled

.

.

(© goodreads.com)

About the author – Nalini Singh:
She was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. She also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time she took the chance to travel around Asia. She is back in New Zealand now, but she is always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of her travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page.
So far, she has worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but she calls it grist for the writer’s mill...  (Source: Goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 18.12.2012 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, Adult Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. 4 Kommentare.

  1. Ooh I loved this as well. The next in the series rock as well. man, those changelings are über-sexy .😀 great review!

  2. You had not read this series? This is one of my favorite series. The characters are fascinating and charismatic and amazing. Judd, Hawke, Andrew, Riley, Luke, Clay, Brenna, Mercy, Indigo … all these and many more that you will know in future books. Of course, I want to know your theories.
    And my answer to your question Constantly: Lover Reborn is published in January in Spain (great!!) And I can not wait until March and have Lover at Last😀 I’m a BIG FAN, as you know.

    • no – honestly, this was my first book by Singh ever! *lol*
      Great to hear that everybody seems to love this series, so I’ve some good books still ahead😉
      I already like Hawke, Breann and Dorian from the first book and I hope that I soon have time to read on.

      hehe, great – so you’re goint to read Lover Reborn in January in spanish and afterwards straight in March you want to read Lover at Last? Thats a great plan! I also can’t wait for the book and yep – I know – I’m also such a biiig fan of the BD!!🙂 *love them*

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

