Review: Skin Hunger

English Cover

German Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Skin Hunger‘ by Kathleen Duey

A Resurrection of Magic #1
...

Synopsis:
Sadima lives in a world where magic has been banned, leaving poor villagers prey to fakes and charlatans. A „magician“ stole her family’s few valuables and left Sadima’s mother to die on the day Sadima was born. But vestiges of magic are hidden in old rhymes and hearth tales and in people like Sadima, who conceals her silent communication with animals for fear of rejection and ridicule. When rumors of her gift reach Somiss, a young nobleman obsessed with restoring magic, he sends Franklin, his lifelong servant, to find her. Sadima’s joy at sharing her secret becomes love for the man she shares it with. But Franklin’s irrevocable bond to the brilliant and dangerous Somiss traps her, too, and she faces a heartbreaking decision. (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I must confess that I didn’t know that book before I’ve started to read it, and hence, I’ve simply let surprised me. And I didn’t get disappointed. Right at the beginning I’ve liked the writing style of Duey very much and I could get into it well and nicely. The book was written in the past. What was very great and has also confused me a little in the beginning was the fact that not all chapters were written in the same perspective, but they rotated.

Moreover, the time line wasn’t only simply linear like in any other book, but also the time switches. There is virtually a story which plays in the past and tells the background story and how it happened that it has come to the present-state. Okay, I’ve to confess this was a little bewildering at first, but it also has carried me away immediately and it was therefore so thrilling that I almost couldn’t put aside the book. These points were absolutely the biggest fascination of the book for me.

Beside these, also the central figure, called Samida, was a highlight of the book and she could win me for herself very fast, as well as after some time the character Haph, for whom I’ve felt endlessly sorry. Also I’ve liked Franklin at the beginning of the book very much because of his friendly kind and his natural, helpful being. Unfortunately he couldn’t really grow within the book or for me he has even changed at some points to the negative.

And unfortunately the same happened with the whole book. Not that the writing style have gotten worse or such a thing but the plot was from time to time too stretched in the length, although it didn’t happened a lot in those chapters. Occasionally I had the feeling, as if something will immediately happen, some kind of highlight or such a thing, but that never came.

The arc of suspense simply decreased again. In addition was that the characters have also slipped into some roles, in which I didn’t really want to see them. For example Franklin became rather weaker than stronger throughout the story, and in my opinion he hasn’t grown at all or has changed to the positive. It was rather in a way that he was completely guided only by Somiss, another central figure, and has operated for me too less independently, so that I wanted to shake him sometimes to wake him up. It was exactly what also Samida wanted to do with him or she also wanted to free herself from him, to put her own luck into focus again, but unfortunately, she didn’t made it.

Now I really hope that this relatively open end, with raised many questions, soon gets a better second book, in which will be also some answers and in which the characters can grow again. Because I think that this phase, in which they characters couldn’t be themselves and where their hands were virtually bound, will be important for the future, their maturation process and the general plot. Hence I’m curious how this series will go on and therefore I’m looking forward to also read the next books.

Cover:
I find the cover very suitably for this story, because it shows Samida well, but also doesn’t reveal too much from her. Moreover it suits to the magic atmosphere in the book and hence I think it’s really felicitous.

All in all:
It’s an interesting book which has brought me to ponder and has carried me away much particularly at the beginning. Unfortunately there have been some weaker phases in the meantime. Nevertheless a must read for fans of Magic and High fantasy or also for readers of for example Trudi Canavan.

Rating:
3 of 5 points – (I liked it)
.

A huge THANKS for the reviewer’s copy to:

© Random House

..

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – Kathleen Duey:
Kathleen Duey grew up in Colorado. She loved riding her horses, hiking, being in the mountains. Reading was always important to her. Writing became a fascination early in her life. In the fourth grade, Kathleen began writing stories and told everyone who would listen that she was going to be an author. Then she did nothing about it until she was 35 years old. In the last decade, Kathleen has learned about computers, the internet, research and writing. Writing is her passion and her dream-come-true. She is in love and feels lucky to have a such a wonderful and loving partner in her life.
(Source: goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 25.07.2012 in * English Reviews, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. 2 Kommentare.

  1. Hallo Tina,
    deine Rezension ist sehr aufschlussreich. Auch wenn die Handlung teilweise sehr langatmig ist, hast du mich mit deinen Gedanken zum Buch neugierig gemacht. Wahrscheinlich würde ich aber eher zur deutschen Fassung tendieren. Englischsprachige Literatur lese ich äußerst selten, aber vielleicht sollte ich es einfach mal versuchen. Schließlich kann ich nur so mein Englisch ein wenig aufbessern.

    Ich wünsche dir einen schönen Abend und sende liebe Grüße,
    Tanja

    • Hallo Tanja,
      schön zu hören, dass dir meine Rezi gefallen hat und sie dich sogar auf das Buch neugierig gemacht hat – sowas ist ja auch der Sinn an der Sache😉
      Ich muss zugeben, ich habe auch das deusche Buch gelesen, aber ich schreibe fast immer eine deutsche und eine englischsprachige Rezension, deshalb vielleicht der Eindruck.
      Aber ich lese auch immer wieder einmal ein englisches Buch, nur ich habe zurzeit viel mehr deutsche Bücher bei mir am SUB herum liegen.🙂
      dankeschön, wünsche ich dir auch.
      Liebe Grüße, Tina

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

WordPress.com-Logo

Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Twitter-Bild

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Facebook-Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Google+ Foto

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Google+-Konto. Abmelden / Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

%d Bloggern gefällt das: