Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

English Cover

German Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Daughter of Smoke and Bone‘
by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone # 1

..

Synopsis:
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious „errands“; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself? (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
Finally again a book that after my high expectations has fulfilled and even excelled them and all I can say is, that I love this book! After many positive reviews and because I found the cover pretty amazing, I was really looking forward to read this book and honestly, I feared that I’ll be disappointed like so often, when I’ve high expectations. But exactly the opposite has happened and now I can join the whole masses before me who loved it, because the book is really wonderful and the best discovery for a long time.

I don’t want to tell much about the plot and describe here everything because I would like to give every reader the chance to discover it for yourself, to solve the riddles and to see the miracles with your own eyes. I only want to say so much that it is about Angels, which aren’t shown as usual as bighearted and kind, but who can be also deadly and unmerciful.
In the book you find yourself in a world full of wishes, filled with me chimeras which couldn’t be more differently and the plot is scattered all around the world, now it’s Prague, then Marrakech or Paris. Everything is a big scene, full of tension and emotions in whose middle the central figure Karou stands; a 17-year-old student with bright blue hairs and many unbelievable secrets, and also riddles which she must work out by herself throughout the story, together with the reader.

The book is stuffed with original ideas, new notions and thus begins already with the first pages and starts with the unique names of the protagonists, like Karou, Twiga, Assil, Kishmish or Akiva. It is also a different atmosphere in this book, stamped by the scenery in Prague, as well as by the unique characters and their own world, like for example in the magic store of Brimstone.
Moreover, Laini Taylor has a wonderful writing style which underlines this fantastic story as well, and you also notice that Taylor has a lot of know-how and has well investigated. This book has brought an absolutely new and fresh wind into the fantasy genre, like a strong gust which carries the ‘boat of the imagination’ even further out in the never-ending ocean. *wonderful*

Furthermore what I’ve liked very much was that though it’s a YA book, that it also fits well for older readers and therefore it’s written more attractively to adults.

The only deficiency which I have to criticize is that at the beginning it was difficult to get into the story because of the writing style and therefore it was also a little slow going, but which changed soon. At the start was just a big question mark but which has changed after some pages.
And also the fact that though I liked Karou as a character and she was totally a great and very strong main figure, she sometimes appeared too great and too good – she was missing a little negative side and therefore she seemed too perfect.
Moreover in the later middle section was a little too much about the past and the whole Madrigal-story, which was described too precisely and it could have been shorter in my opinion.

But otherwise, I was inspired by this book all the time and I could empathize fantastically and felt with these wonderful characters throughout the plot and now I’m really looking forward to the second part in this incredible series, which hopefully will be released soon.

German Cover:
It’s breathtaking and the nicest cover which I have in my collection so far. Special is, that under the envelope is also a printed picture on the hardcover. *awesome*

All in all:
For me an obvious Must-Read! At which I have to say that it’s rather for fantasy fans. For Jodi Picoult-readers or for fans of non-fictional books, this book will be maybe too extraordinary.

Rating:
5 of 5 points

Quotes:

Karou: „It’s not like there’s a law against flying.“
Zuzana: „Yes there is. The law of gravity.“

Madrigal: „Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there’s no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like a light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic.“

Akiva: „Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens. I need you to remember that I love you.“

..

.

Succession:

# 1: Laini Taylor – Daughter of Smoke and Bone »
# 2: Laini Taylor – Days of Blood and Starlight
.

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – Laini Taylor:

Hi there! I’m a writer of fantasy books for young people, but my books can be enjoyed by adults as well. My ‚Dreamdark‘ books, Blackbringer (2007) and Silksinger (2009) are about faeries — not dainty little flowery things, but warrior-faeries who battle devils. My first young adult book, Lips Touch, is a finalist for the 2009 National Book Award! It’s creepy, sensual supernatural romance. . . about kissing. I am also an artist with a licensed gift product line called „Laini’s Ladies.“
(Source: goodreads.com)

Visit her Website »»

.

.

Veröffentlicht am 18.03.2012 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. 6 Kommentare.

  1. Yay! So glad you liked it!🙂

  2. I love ur blog,
    I am from Philippines and I am planning to make a book
    blog like yours

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

