Review: Evernight (en.)

English/ American Cover

German Cover

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 .

0 (no heart – which means, it doesn’t deserve one)

‚Evernight
by Claudia Gray

Evernight # 1

Synopsis:
Bianca wants to escape.
She’s been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn’t fit in.
Then she meets Lucas. He’s not the „Evernight type“ either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him. But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can’t be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she’s ever believed. (Quelle: goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I’ve held myself together really long and tried to read this book to the end, but with the best will I’ve to break up in the middle of it! I haven’t read something absurd like that (thanks to god) not in a very long time and I have no idea how someone is able to like this book.
Through the whole book I haven’t started to like the central figure Bianca, no notion why, but her story and also the whole plot in the book have let myself absolutely cold and have not moved my in the least or made me feel to care for any of it. This Bianca runs around like a 10-year-old girl that I only wanted to shake or slap and also the rest of it, the story, the plot and so on; all of it has already been there for 1.000 times *boring²*

Nevertheless, I have tried to get into the story or to feel anything when she has made friends with this boy named Lucas, but also this guy has not interested me at all. And all along Gray has tried to make this boarding school look dangerous or mystical, particularly for Bianca. She’s forced by her parents to go to school there, while they teach in it. However, from the beginning Bianca feels totally wrong in this place, not only in the boarding school but also among the other students who look so much better and attractive than she does. (bla bla bla, … anyhow we had all that already somewhere and parts of it I already know from countless other books…)

All along she cries and pities herself and the more she suffers and it lets the reader know it how poor she is, the less I like her. Especially because she does nothing to change anything and just runs around stupidly.

But the reason why I have stopped was the following:
!!! SPOILERS – please do not read on you still would like to read this book still!!!

Half of the book Bianca is described absolutely innocent and she feels wrong at this place and she notices that something in the Evernight boarding school is not right, or that something with her school-followers is not right. And then suddenly she bites – BIANCA bites a guy and drinks his blood! Okay, it was no surprise that there would appear vampires soon, but nevertheless it was astonishing that Bianca has behaved all the time like a small, scarred, little school child, while she KNEW that she is a vampire and has only waited to becomes also an ‚ adult‘ vampire- woman who drinks blood.

This was for me the point which was definitively too contradictory and just let me stop reading the book with rolling eyes and shaking head. For me the whole story around Bianca and particularly her behavior and her thoughts has proved no logic and in my opinion the whole plot was sucked out of the fingers. *terrible*

Cover:
Also the cover doesn’t please me at all, no matter whether the English or the German one because both are just boring and ordinary.

All in all:
This book was for me an absolute time of waste and a book which I couldn’t finish. Something which happens to me very seldom, but this book did it.

Rating:
0 of 5 points

Succession:

# 1: Claudia Gray – Evernight
# 2: Claudia Gray – Stargazer
# 3: Claudia Gray – Hourglass
# 4: Claudia Gray – Afterlife

.

About the author – Claudia Gray:
Claudia Gray is not my real name. I didn’t choose a pseudonym because my real name is unpleasant (it isn’t), because I’d always dreamed of calling myself this (I haven’t) or even because I’m hiding from the remnants of that international diamond-smuggling cartel I smashed in 2003 (Interpol has taken care of them). In short, I took a pseudonym for no real reason whatsoever. Sometimes this is actually the best reason to do things.
I am a full-time novelist based in Chicago. So far, in life, I’ve been a disc jockey, a lawyer, a journalist and an extremely bad waitress, just to name a few. I especially like to spend time traveling, hiking, reading and listening to music. More than anything else, I enjoy writing. (Source:  http://claudiagray.com/index.htm)

Visit her Website  »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 23.12.2011 in * English Reviews, Flops, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

