Review: Clockwork Prince (en.)

(© goodreads)

.
.
‚Clockwork Prince‘
by
Cassandra Clare

The Infernal Devices # 2

..

Fir.

First Sentence:
‚The fog was thick, muffling sound and sight.‘

Last Sentence:
‚I have come to be trained as a Shadowhunter.‘

Synopsis:
In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move and that one of their own has betrayed them.
(Source: goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I have waited desperately for this book and have ordered it already half a year in advance on Amazon, so that I get it as fast as it was possible because I was so crazy about it. Now I have finished and must say that I have mixed feelings about it. Parts of it were magnificent, but other parts I didn’t like that much and which I found rather unnecessary and were just aiming on heartache and despair.

The second part kidnaps us, as well as already the first book, in the Victorian London in which everybody still drives around with carriages through the streets and where ladies have to wear baggy skirts and big hats. In this world lives Tessa, but not among normal people, but in the institute wiht the Shadowhunters.
In this institute are also living the two main men of this story: Will and Jem. Jem is the sensitive, good-natured, honest guy but who is also very ill, and nobody knows for how long he’ll stay alive. Will is the impulsive, passionate and also sometimes mean book-lover who carries a secret which forces him to push everyone away. Tessa is in between these two guys. Although Will is constantly pushing her away and mean to her, she can’t stop herself of feeling for him and thinking about him. On the other side is Jem, who appears not only as a good and trustworthy friend, but also wakes up other passions in her. However, beside her love confusion Tessa must stay focused because the Magister still wants to capture her and use her and her power for his own devil plan and together with the Shadowhunters she tries everything to stop him. She even doesn’t stop at betraying her own brother, which has worked with the Magister, to find answers and there she and the other Shadowhunters get in an extremely dangerous situation …

I’m still thrilled about how unbelievable great Clare is able to describe the sceneries and the characters and the surroundings and furthermore she gives an incredibly great impression how it would be to be in person at the relevant places. One can feel it directly, how the wind blows, hear the rustling of the leaves … indescribably great.

Here at this point I also have to praise the creativity of Clare, which in my opinion knows almost no borders and I find the history about the machines and how everything becomes more and more dangerous and sharpens to one big final great and this is unbelievable brilliant. All along I was thrilled, I never know really what happens to be next and Clare provides so much action, that I had no time to breathe or make a break. Constantly there happens something new, and over and over again new characters get involved in the story which offers again more information that I got even more curious and wanted to know desperately what it is all about, that I couldn’t stop reading. Hence, I can say without bad conscience that I was thrilled and curious from first page up to the last and I wasn’t even a second bored. This is really wonderful, particularly because this doesn’t happen often in my case.
Moreover, I am a gigantic fan of the writing style of Clare who is especially beautiful and becomes never dull or boring. Clare really has a big talent to formulate situations, plots and emotions in the right words and to create incredibly good sentences, as well as dialogues. For this she has my greatest respect, because I haven’t read such great formulation like hers, very often in other books.

Now to the things which I didn’t like so much and which have decreased my appraisal: As I’ve already mentioned further up, the whole love triangle which started slowly in the first book, continued and increased in the second book. I don’t know why Clare tries to sabotage her own great story with this?
I can’t read it any more: a girl, two boys, both in love with her and she can’t decide, although she loves one of them more, but chooses the other one in the middle of the story (from my view for flimsy reasons). Thought we all know that in the end she’ll pick Will!!

SPOILER SPOILER!!
This is in my opinion not hard to predict because of the incredible resemblance of the characters in this book, with those of Mortal Instruments. Here is a small overview: Tessa = Clary, Will = Jace, Jem = mixture of Alec and Simon, Jessie = Isabel, Henry = partly the institute leader from the first book; I don’t know his name any more. Moreover, the love course goes completely the same way like it did in MI. From the beginning it is clear that Clary, mh … sorry, Tessa ^^ will end up with Will/ Jace … (whatever, it’s all the same. And it is no miracle that the first guy has blond hair and the other one has black hair, so that one can recognize them apart).

In the first part she was kissing Will, then he pushed her away and the big guessing game begins where everyone want to know what is wrong with the man and what is his mystery.
In the second part Tessa/Clary draws nearer to the other guy of the book (Jem/Simon), although she languishes for the other (Will/ Jace). And I swear you that here it will be the same at the end, in such a way that Tessa, like Clary, will end up with Will, like Clary did. This hasn’t disturbed me in MI because I didn’t like Simon very much anyhow.
But now here I am already sorry for Jem because he’s really a nice character and isn’t whiny like Simon. I guess the easiest solution for Clare will be that she simply lets him die. Though I think it’s a shame and I find it a pity, but for me it is the only practicable solution without tearing completely Jem’s heart out.
Moreover, and what has even more displeased me concerning this: Even if Tessa is more likeable than Clary because she isn’t self-pitying herself and whining all the time, I don’t understand how she could feel something for Jem and wanted more from him before and then Will told Tessa his feeling for her and his love and explained his bad behavior and suddenly she has to force herself to feel anything for Jem. Hello??! I don’t get it!?

Okay, we already knew that in the whole time she had still feelings for Will but to be in love with two guys at the same time… again?! I’m sorry, but I can’t read it anymore because at some point it just gets hilarious and boring. And in my opinion the whole love story is very conceivable and also annoying in a little way, because it is only aiming for an emotional rollercoaster and heartache. Therefore the book gets only 3,5 points of 5, but besides the love triangle the book is really great and awesome!

Cover:
Once again a wonderful cover which I like very much from the layout and which gets you in the right mood.

All in all:
Apart from the love story it was again a really great book which was very exciting, varied and definitely a page turner.

Rating:
3,5 of 5 points

Quote:

Tessa: I won’t know if I like it until I try it, will I?“
Will: „I’ve never swum naked in the Thames, but I know I wouldn’t like it.“
„But think how entertaining for sightseers,“ said Tessa.

Jem: „I could not tell you if I loved you the first moment I saw you, or if it was the second or third or fourth. But I remember the first moment I looked at you walking toward me and realized that somehow the rest of the world seemed to vanish when I was with you.“

Tessa: „Jem is nothing but goodness. That he struck you last night only shows how capable you are of driving even saints to madness.“

“D’you think he would have thought ahead like that?“ said Henry.
„Assuredly,“ said Will. „The man’s a strategist.“ He tapped his temple. „Like me.”

OP.
.

.Succession:

# 1: Cassandra Clare – Clockwork Angel »
# 2: Cassandra Clare – Clockwork Prince »
# 3: Cassandra Clare – Clockwork Princess


copyright: Cassandra Clare

About the author – Cassandra Clare:

Cassandra Clare was born to American parents in Teheran, Iran and spent much of her childhood travelling the world with her family. She lived in France, England and Switzerland before she was ten years old. Since her family moved around so much she found familiarity in books and went everywhere with a book under her arm. She spent her high school years in Los Angeles where she used to write stories to amuse her classmates.

After college, Cassie lived in Los Angeles and New York where she worked at various entertainment magazines and even some rather suspect tabloids. She started working on her YA novel, City of Bones, in 2004, inspired by the urban landscape of Manhattan, her favourite city. She turned to writing fantasy fiction full time in 2006. (Source: http://www.cassandraclare.com/cms/home)

Visit her Website: »»


Veröffentlicht am 17.12.2011 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. 2 Kommentare.

  1. searchingsarah84

    they! Totally agree with that review, especially the part about the love-triangle…..and that fact that it kind of ‚ruined‘ the story a bit…..I really like Jem as a character and I think it kinda mean that she ‚plays‘ with him as a substitude in the book….. this only leads to him dying in the end, I know—-but I am soooo disappointed by the otherwise good book.

    außerdem: super blog!!!!

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. Jem is an awesome character and I love him and yes I know Will looks hot – but Jem is the better one of them, to be honest. And Tessa just plays with Jem and I think he deserves better and I feel sooo pity for him. It’s just sad.
      Hope there’ll be a good ending, though I question it.:/
      Thank you🙂

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

