Review: Handle With Care

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚Handle With Care
by Jodi Picoult
(Zerbrechlich)

.
Synopsis:

Charlotte and Sean could have been with their daughters a normal and happy family in New Hampshire, wouldn’t there be the inborn disease of her little daughter Willow, who has osteogenesis imperfecta, also called OI or glass bones disease. All their lives changes after Charlotte got the idea from an attorney that she could take her gynecologist, and also her best friend, to court and if she wins she could get enough money to guarantee a good live for Willow – the only thing she has to do is, that she has to say she would have aborted, if she would have known earlier about Willow’s illness. Although Charlotte would never have done it, the possible money in her reach for Willow’s and her family’s better future, drives Charlotte on to say this thing in the court. But such things to say are not going by unnoticed by journalists and TV Stations and also by association of handicapped people… and therefore the question ‚what if‘ and the debate about abortion get out of hand… not only by the people who are tracking the trial, but also within her friendships and her own family…

First Sentence:
„Things break all the time.“

My thoughts about the book:
It’s very hard for me to write a review about this book and I already delayed it some days. The reason for it is that I’ve positive as well as negative feelings when I think about this book and the story within.
At first it was hard for me to get in the story, because it’s writing as an epistolary novel and therefore every chapter is written from different characters POV, and so it got very confusing sometimes. Furthermore it takes some time to become more interesting and that things actually happen… it’s kind of sagging beginning. Moreover I’m a YA and fantasy addict and to Picoults story and her writing style is very different to my common reading field and so nothing I’m used to read and therefore I hadn’t a fluently read. Though Picoult did a good job to let the reader feel all the sad feelings and hopelessness and all the suffering and pain… but it didn’t make the book easier or fluently to read and so it took me some time to finish this 600 pages long book and sometimes it got strenuous for me.
Another reason why I’m having a hard time to rate this book, is that I’ve also to ask myself: „What is a good book for me?“, „Should it make me smile and should it entertain me… and should it make me fall for the characters?“, „Or is a good book one that presents a sad, stirring story, in which I can also feel the pain along with the characters and in which I also feel devastated and depressive, because of all the pain they have to suffer and endure? Which wake the reader up and let them honour their own life a little more and be thankful for all we’ve got?“, „Or do I like books more which distract me from the already sad and cruel real world and guide me in a fantasy world full of wonders and colorful landscape, with a villain of their own but who can be conquered in the end and isn’t real?“ I think everybody has to answer these questions before he’s able to rate this book… Like I did for me… And I have to say that I already know that there are bad, sad and cruel things out there in the world which are painful and devastating… and therefore while I’m reading a book I want to have a distraction from all of it, I want to forget about this awful things and want to enjoy my read and have a good feeling at the end and want to smile when I think back to a good book. So therefore with the book ‚Handle with care‘ I didn’t make a good choice for my needing and so I can’t rate it very positive. It was a tragic and sad story with hopeless persons and a sorrowful plot in it which didn’t give me any good feeling at all. Though I know it’s important to let the people know about this illness called OI, but I think there are better ways to show them or at least to show a better ending.
I don’t know why Picoult is choosing such an ending in most of her books – is it because she wants to wake up the reader at the end or wants to shock us… but she didn’t get me with that. I finished this book I was just sad and I didn’t see any point in it… and for me is just one thing clear after reading this book – that I won’t ready any books of her again. (or maybe not for a very long time)

German Cover:
The Cover is fascinating and the best part of the whole book and it was the reason why I wanted to read it. At first I thought it shows a woman on it, but when you see closer, you agnize that it’s a little girl who braves all adversities – and that’s Willow.

All in all:
A book which lets the people share tears and let them talk about it. Though it helps to indicate of the illness OI and to help involved people, but the end is still disputable and so it’s not a book I would recommend to my friends.

Rating:
2,5  of 5 points

Quotes:
Willow: “When you love someone, you say their name different. Like it’s safe inside your mouth.”

Sean: “People always say that, when you love someone, nothing in the world matters. But that’s not true, is it? You know, and I know, that when you love someone, everything in the world matters a little bit more.”

Charlotte: “You know how sometimes, your life is so perfect you’re afraid for the next moment, because it couldn’t possibly be quite as good? That’s what it felt like.”ou..
..

.

About the author – Jodi Picoult:

Picoult studied creative writing with Mary Morris at Princeton, and had two short stories published in Seventeen magazine while still a student.
She married Tim Van Leer, whom she had known at Princeton, and it was while she was pregnant with her first child that she wrote her first novel,
Songs of the Humpback Whale.
In 2003 she was awarded the New England Bookseller Award for Fiction….
She and Tim and their three children live in Hanover, New Hampshire with three Springer spaniels, two donkeys, two geese, eight ducks, five chickens, and the occasional Holstein. (Source: http://www.jodipicoult.com.au/author.html)

Visit her Website »»

.

Veröffentlicht am 17.10.2011 in * English Reviews, Adult Non Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

