Review: Iron Queen

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

‚The Iron Queen
by Julie Kagawa

Iron Fey # 3  I.

.
Synopsis:

Meghan and Ash are on their way to Meghan’s family, after they were banned from the Never never because of their love for each other. But there they get attacked by some iron feys, because the false Iron King wants to kidnap Meghan and then to kill her. Therefore Meghan has to realize that she can’t have a ‘normal’ life before she hasn’t got rid of the false Iron King and killed him – again. Ash stay’s the whole time at her side and shortly after they all, to say Meghan, Ash, Puck and Grimalkin find themselves in a hidden house of Leandsidhe, where they plan their next moves. But then one day the summer and the winter courts come to them to ask Meghan to kill the false Iron King for them, and in exchange the exile will be lifted and they will be free to go back to the fairyland…

First Sentence:
Eleven years ago, on my sixth birthday, my father disappeared.

My thoughts about the book:
This book has more than fulfilled my expectation and I don’t know where to begin my review… there were so many beautiful moments, which I will re-read again in the future, but there were also sad and desperate ones, which made my heart ache and which made me cry till I was sitting on my couch sobbing and the tears just flowed over my cheeks *it was great*.
The story began when Meghan and Ash were together, and this time they were totally alone, in the mortal world and there they wandered around to accomplish one by one some ‘tasks’ to draw near their goal to end the false Iron King’s life. To be hones Meghan didn’t want to have to do something with all this fairy stuff anymore and we all were hoping for some break or some special time for Meghan and Ash, where they could enjoy being together. Should be too much to ask for after Meghan killed the first Iron King, then fighted for Ash and their love and saved her little brother and thousand of feys by the way. But I guess it would become boring if there wouldn’t happen something interesting and if Meghan and Ash wouldn’t go back to Never never to fight there against many more dangers and threats. NO! So they went back and fighted like crazy and it all made it more thrilling and exciting and for me the whole book was an emotional rollercoaster and at some points I even got a little heart attack. What I want to say with this is, that even though there were some moments they were going slower, that the book all in all was more rapid and thrilling than any other book of this series so far. The fights were more blood lusting and also the input from Meghan were definitely higher, so that she fought with her own sword and didn’t stand on the side like it the other books and were thinking “Oh, what should I do?” – So I really liked that change. And also her whining, about everything that concerns Ash, was less annoying and often than in the books before. (If you ask me, it was no wonder- because of all Ash did for her and what he all said to her *so sweet*) und now she also finally knows where to put her feelings for Puck and that they should just be friends *surprise*. I really like Puck and he can make you smile and lift your spirit, but he’s just not the right one for a romance, because he’s too hyped and flippancy. And let us be straight, but who doesn’t really want hard muscles, a great six-pack, sexy messy hairs and a hard shell, which we have to break up to get to the sweet and delicious soft heart – like it is with Ash. Kagawa has made a great job with him and it was great how she build his character: at first an arrogant and unreachable Prince of the unseelie court who appears that he doesn’t care of anything but of himself. And then from book to book this wall breaks and shows us his history and his feelings – and we loved it (or I did). And Kagawa did it so well, that he doesn’t become too soft or sensitive, no, he is still a fighter and an ice-cold killer – he is still or beloved ‘ice-boy’!🙂
All in all I’m really happy how everything turns out in the end, even though I cried like a baby at the end. But I guess it just has to be this way or otherwise we wouldn’t get a next and the ultimate last book (Iron Knight #4). And so I’m sure everything will be fine and that Kagawa will make a great and breathe taking final we all will love.

English Cover:
Like all the other covers in this series, this one is great as well and just beautiful and adorable and with great details. Also the German cover which is also great, especially the leaves on the eyelashes are great.

All in all:
This book has ALL what a book can have – love, jealousy, drama, heartaches, humor, strong characters and funny dialogs and passionate love scenes (though there could have been more and they could have been more intense *lol*). Please read it!!

Rating:
4,5 of 5 points

Quotes:
Meghan: “We could die tomorrow,“ I whispered back. „I want to be with you tonight. I don’t want to have any regrets, when it comes to us. So, yes, I’m sure. I love you, Ash.”

Ash: „If I’d thought I would regret it,“ he said calmly, „I never would have made that oath. I knew what becoming a knight would mean. And if you asked me again, the answer would still be the same.“ He sighed, framing my face with his hands. „My life… everything I am… belongs to you.“..
..

Succession:

# 1: Julie Kagawa – The Iron King
# 1,5: Julie Kagawa – Winter’s Passage
# 2: Julie Kagawa – The Iron Daughter
# 3: Julie Kagawa – The Iron Queen
# 3,5: Julie Kagawa – Summer’s Crossing
# 4 : Julie Kagawa – The Iron Knight

.

Veröffentlicht am 27.09.2011 in * English Reviews, * Favorites ♥, YA Fantasy und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Pimisbuecher

Eat - Read - Love

BOOKAHOLICS: till the End of Times

- the Days and Life of book-obsessed Girls

Die Literatouristin

Auf einer Reise durch die Seiten

Büchermops

Ganz viele Bücher und ein Mops!

Piranhapudel

Ein Büchertagebuch

Marmor und Ton - Autoren schreiben mit MUT

Vom Schreiben und Lesen - Eine Autorin und ihre wankelmütige Muse

Bianca Iosivoni

| Autorin |

AnjaIsReading

Schnuffelrudel's bookshelves

booksmiacara

Bücher, Filme, Serien und mehr ...

WIRRE WELT BERLIN

Ihr werdet euch noch wundern

Nina C. Hasse

Schreiben ist Tanzen mit Worten.

The Writing Machine - Blog von Katharina V. Haderer

"Wer schreibt, will auch gelesen werden." - www.katharinavhaderer.com

Mirjam H. Hüberli // Autorin

... tretet ein in mein Schreibatelier

