Review: The New Death and others

(© goodreads)

.

.

.

‘The New Death
and others

by
James Hutchings
.

.

.
.

First Sentence:
“In the beginning of the world the gods considered all those things which did not have their own gods, to decide who would have responsibility and rulership”

Last Sentence:
“… Yet he grinned as wide as Death
then he sobbed till out of breath
when the pallid phantom said “I was the last.”

Synopsis:
Death gets a roommate…

An electronic Pope faces a difficult theological question…

A wicked vizier makes a terrible bargain…

44 stories. 19 poems. No whiny vampires. There’s a thin line between genius and insanity, and James Hutchings has just crossed it – but from which direction? (Source: goodreads.com)

.

My thoughts about the book:
It’s hard for me to review this book, because for the first time this isn’t an independent book, with a concluded story. But there are inserted 44 short stories and also a few poems which are sometimes written between the short stories. Some of them have made me smile and others were full of irony. And I was surprised by myself of how much I’ve liked most of them. But to be honest I also must say that I didn’t like all of them, but though that also would have been impossible.

It was the same with the short stories. Some of them couldn’t persuade me however but others aroused my enthusiasm because they were sarcastically, funny or partially also with a deeper sense. Out of all I would like to lift the story ‚The God of the Poor’ which stimulates to think, even if it is described humorously, but it leaves behind a bitter aftertaste.

Besides that also ‘A Date with of Destiny’ which is completely full of irony and it was a fun to read, like as ‘Compatibility’ or ’The Perfect Woman’. Moreover, I also found the story ‘The End’ very amusing, because I’m a vampire fan and therefore for me it was just hilarious! *haha*. And I also liked ‘Everlasting Fire’ with the demon called Lilly the story ‘The New Death’ with the different deaths in it.
Just like it was with the poems, there were stories which I didn’t like that much, for example the first story in the beginning with the cats. The story was long-winded a little bit too weird for my taste. But on the whole I’ve really liked most of the stories in it.

Also the writing style of James Hutchings was great. From the formulation it kind of reminded me sometimes a little of Tolkien, although it wasn’t so excessive nor difficult here in this book, but more catchy and easier to read. What I liked the least in the book was the fact that the stories were all very short and I were introduced constantly to new characters, worlds or situations and stories, which also had partially different structures or narrative forms, so that I was torn out from my reading river over and over again.

This is also the reason why I give only 3 points and not more, although I have liked Hutchings writing style and his imagination. But it was too varied and therefore I would wish that he’ll write a whole book with just one, complete story and with the same characters in it.

Cover:
I think the cover looks interesting and it is absolutely an ‘eye-catcher’. Moreover, it immediately and clearly shows what the book is about.

All in all:
A good book for the fun read in-between. The book is full of interesting and varied stories which are partly humorous or which can also be ‘as cross as two sticks’ :)

Rating:
3 of 5 points

..

.

You can buy the book on:

*Amazon:   ‘click here’

*Smashwords:  ‘click here’

*Barnes & Noble:  ‘click here’

.

.

(© goodreads)

About the author – James Hutchings:

I’m currently in the process of enrolling in a graduate writing course. Other than writing, my main hobby is coding online games. I spent several years writing an online game called Age of Fable (www.ageoffable.net). I don’t have any plans to do more on it, but it’s still online, and you can play it for free. I’ve also done a few smaller projects. For example I did an online version of the computer game Oregon Trail… (Source: James Hutchings)

Visit his Website »»

Go to the author interview »»

.

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 269 Followern an

