Review: Dark Lover

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

(© goodreads)

.

‘Dark Lover
by J. R. Ward

Black Dagger Brotherhood # 1

First Sentence:
“Darius looked around the club, taking in the teeming, half-naked bodies on the dance floor.”

Last Sentence:
” ‘Please, if you would,’ the butler said, ‘no throwing the linens. Peaches, anyone?’ “

Synopsis:
In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.
The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams. (Source: Goodreads.com)

My thoughts about the book:
I really really liked this book though I was scared in the beginning that I won’t like it because it happens too often that an often recommended book and which is on top of the top-seller-list just don’t work for me, but this one did definitely. I could also shake of my skepticism after the first few pages, because I thought I’ve had already enough of vampire stories, but this book is different to the other ones. The whole vampire stuff is different to the ones I’ve already read because for example the vampires don’t have to drink from human to stay alive, or they don’t have problems with garlic but still with sunlight. And when the vampires feed on blood they have to drink from a vampire from the other sex, and some of them even take a binding to the other vampire. And if they do so and want to make it official, like a marriage, then the female vampire, the bride, is called ‘Shellan’ and the male vampire is her ‘Hellren’ like husband, but you can call him also ‘Hell’, which I think is fitting sometimes. :)
Beside that I also like the background story which tells the story about the century long war between the vampires and the soulless vampire hunters, called Lessers. I would have liked to read more about their war in this book but I didn’t get enough information about that topic, which I regret but I’m sure it will told in the upcoming books soon. Or I’m also very interested in the common life of the vampires and their society and classes, because we just got a little insight of it, which I found very interesting. Furthermore the writing styles was great and fluently to read. Not with great poetic impact or with wonderful, fantastic world descriptions like in other books, but it was suitable to the story and a great and most important a stirring and breath taking read.
And now to the characters which I’ve already took to my heart, and which are the highlight in this book series! I would’ve thought that it is possible, but Ward did an amazing job with so many characters and to give each one of them a own personality, and so therefore I had no problems to keep them apart in spite of their weird names. Although the characters were all big and muscles men with ‘high testosterone’ attitude, they also had much charisma, charm and humor. About Beth and Wrath I don’t have to lose many words, because this two just work and are good together and an unstoppable team. Especially Wrath with his ‘hard as steel – guy’ who is asking himself all the time how he could fall in love with a half human, has made me smile more than once. But I also like Beth because she is likable, strong-minded and brave no matter how scared she is, and she also appears self-confident and courageous. About the other characters in the book I also liked Rhage, or also called Hollywood, Butch, Vishous and Thor and I’m really curious about their story. What I’m also curious about it the question what will happen in the future with the Lessers? …with the blind king? …or with Darius? … if he’ll come back or not? Although this book left me without answering all questions I’m happy that I read it and I’m sure I’ll get my answers in the next books, and I finished it with a delightful sigh and a sensual smile on my lips.

Cover:
The covers are not very special and they don’t look very appealing to me, but I’m happy to have read in nevertheless.

All in all:
A passionate and thrilling book, which isn’t just a ‘wet bedtime story’ but also, beside the erotic part, an intelligent and stirring story with great characters and plot. *top*!

Rating:
4,5 of 5 points (soo awesome!)

Quotes:

Wrath: “Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splitting headache, a nearly irresistable urge to commit murder, and an inferiority complex. Yippee.”

Thorment: “And how’s that going to go? You’re just going to walk up to her and say, ‘Hey, I know you’ve never seen me before, but I’m your dad. Oh, and guess what? You’ve won the evolutionary lottery: You’re a vampire. Let’s go to Disneyland!’ “

..

Succession:

# 1: J. R. Ward – Dark Lover »»
# 2: J. R. Ward – Lover Eternal »»
# 3: J. R. Ward – Lover Awakened »»
# 4: J. R. Ward – Lover Revealed »»
# 5: J. R. Ward – Lover Unbound »»
# 6: J. R. Ward – Lover Enshrined »»
# 6.5: J.R.Ward – BDB: An Insider’s Guide »»
# 7: J. R. Ward – Lover Avagened »»
# 8: J. R. Ward – Lover Mine »»
# 9: J. R. Ward – Lover Unleashed »»
# 10: J. R. Ward – Lover Reborn »»
# 11: J. R. Ward – Lover at Last »»
# 12: J. R. Ward – The King

.

copyright: jrward.com

About the author – J. R. Ward:

J.R. Ward is a #1 New York Times and USAToday Best Selling author of erotic paranormal romance. She lives in the south with her incredibly supportive husband and her beloved golden retriever. After graduating from law school, she began working in healthcare in Boston and spent many years as Chief of Staff of one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation. Writing has always been her passion and her idea of heaven is a whole day of nothing but her computer, her dog and her coffee pot. (Source: jrward.com)

Visit her Website »»

.


25 responses to “Review: Dark Lover

Leave a Comment/ Schreib mir was :)

Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 271 Followern an

